Wednesday, June 15, 2022

Tonight! Reading at Emil & Tamiko's Father's Day Month Gathering | Facebook

Tonight!
Excited to celebrate Father's Day with my good friends Emil and Tamiko
WEDNESDAY, JUNE 15, 2022 AT 8:30 PM – 9:30 PM EDT/ 5:30 pm PDT/ 2:30 pm HST
I'll be reading selections from my new book (towards the end of the hour), "You Cannot Resist Me When My Hair Is in Braids, Wayne State University Press Made in Michigan Series

Please join us as we honor, remember, process, sort through, and share our memories of our fathers and father figures in our lives, and those who have been absent and/or less than loving/ideal.
Storytellers, visual artists, poets, essayists, singers, songwriters, and creators of all kinds will have 3-5 minutes to share their creativity at this gathering.
We hope to see you there!
Emil & Tamiko

Emil Guillermo is a journalist, award-winning essayist, broadcaster, and performer. He's done his one-man shows on Asian American Filipino History at theater festivals around the country. He is the host of The PETA Podcast, and Emil Amok's Takeout. His weekly column is at AALDEF.org/blog and at amok.com. He was the first Asian American male to host a national news show (NPR's "All Things Considered," in 1989).

Tamiko Wong was born and raised in San Francisco with roots in Japantown and Chinatown. Her work has been included in the Lunchbox Moments Zine, Standing Strong! Fillmore and Japantown anthology, on Pacific Time, and in AsianWeek. She writes poetry, memoir, and is a singer-songwriter. Tamiko has also produced podcasts and zines.

Emil & Tamiko's Father's Day Month Gathering | Facebook

No comments:

Post a Comment